Designed by Dredge and cast in the Armagh Foundry, the Dredge bridge dates from around 1844. Its installation greatly facilitated the Mill workers getting to work from the Tyrone side of the river. It was originally located further down the river at Glenarb.
Named after James Dredge (1794–1863), it currently spans the River Blackwater and links Tyrone and Armagh on either side. This unique bridge is the only surviving example in Northern Ireland of a 19th Century wrought and cast-iron suspension-type footbridge. It’s uniqueness comes from the number of iron rods progressively diminishing towards the center of the bridge.